Genesis 48:14

Posted on January 25, 2010

0


Genesis 48:14

But Israel reached out his right hand and put it on Ephraim's head, though he

was the younger, and crossing his arms, he put his left hand on Manasseh's head, even though Manasseh was the firstborn. 

God is God and I am not.

I have trouble with that sometimes.

Because I am so smart, and so clever, and so funny, and so talented, and so totally awesome…

Or so I think.

As i read this verse about Israel doing the old crosser-oo and giving Ephraim the super-cool first blessing and giving Manasseh the leftover blessing, I was reminded of all the times in Genesis I have read about "first born getting the blessing…first born getting the blessing."

It happens all the time.

Except for when it doesn't.

In situations like this.

Or with Israel/Jacob loving Joseph the most and giving him the blessing. Or when Jacob scammed Esau. Or other times I'm sure, but I just can't remember right now.

The point is that God often has "a thing" that looks it always is ro always will be, except sometime that "thing" just isn't or doesn't. Like with the last minute super cross here in Genesis 48.

I used to/often do/probably most always will get a little sideways at God about stuff that doesn't go the way I want. The way I think it ought to go. The way "it has always gone before for everyone else and I really think it should go that way for me because it's fair, yeah know God…"

Especially with Madison. Our 13-year-old-daughter with the brain injury and seizure disorder and a litany of other problems. Because Madison was born "normal."

She did not have a hard birth or problems in utero. There was no "uh-oh" ultrasound or a ob/gyn saying "I think we need to talk."

Just the opposite. It was bells and whistles and showers and paint the nursery and "I wonder what he/she will look like" and (this is the biggest of all) "We don't care what sex of baby we have, we just want him.her to be healthy."

And she was.

Big and bright and beautiful as a button.

Until she was five months old. And a germ from her first ear infection somehow found its way into her bloodstream and then into the lining of her brain and before you could say "what's going on" she was on life support with bacterial meningitis.

And that sucked.

But here is the thing I have (often painfully) learned in the last dozen years.

God is God.

And just because nearly all healthy babies become healthy kids doesn't mean mine will. And just because  kids hardly ever have traumatic brain injury doesn't mean mine won't. And because that most kids born with normal intelligence and faculties will proceed through life like that doesn't mean that mine will.

And that is (mostly) ok.

Because God is God.

I have not always felt that way. I may not entirely feel that way tomorrow.

But most days, I am thrilled that God decided to toss aside the "most of the time" stuff for Madison. And I can have a whole new set of unique life experiences and outlook and hope and joy that I very well could have missed if He had not done the big "'God is God and I know the best for everything every time crosser-oo" (like with Ephraim and Manasseh and the blessing) with her.

Posted in: Uncategorized