Genesis 50

Posted on January 26, 2010

0


Genesis 50

So Joseph died at the age of a hundred and ten. And after they embalmed him, he was placed in a coffin in Egypt.

Well this took longer than I thought…I stared reading reading through the Bible, to get a little context on th e whole thing on August 25,2009. And now five months later I have made it through one whole book.

At this pace I am going to have to live as long as Methuselah to make it through to Revelation.

The good (and bad, I guess) news about Genesis is that is have some of the greatest hits of the Bible:

  • Creation
  • Adam and Eve
  • The fall of Man
  • Cain and Abel
  • Noah
  • The flood
  • Abraham
  • Issac
  • Jacob
  • Joseph

So what have I learned in my very poky parade through Genesis:

  • God is patient
  • God has limits (not in what he can do, but in what he will tolerate.)
  • God is very loving
  • God is very creative.
  • The Bible is interesting
  • And sometimes weird
  • And sometime confusing
  • And every now and then seems to not make sense.
  • God has a pretty strong opinion of what needs to happen.
  • God did not make us all robots.
  • God did make us to be very messy.

And perhaps most importantly, i have learned some things I did not know before August 25.

Exodus here I come…

Posted in: Uncategorized