Exodus 2:12

Posted on February 9, 2010

0


Exodus 2:3

11 One day, after Moses had grown up, he went out to where his own people were and watched them at their hard labor. He saw an Egyptian beating a Hebrew, one of his own people. 12 Glancing this way and that and seeing no one, he killed the Egyptian and hid him in the sand.

In terms of Bible people, Moses is as much of a rock star as
you are going to find.

And here, a handful of verses into his grown up life, we see
him losing his temper and killing an Egyptian.  And then he buried the dead guy in the sand.

Amazing how a few thousand years changes things because I am
pretty sure that Moses could never pass the background check needed to work (or
even volunteer) at a church today.

Imagine this conversation if he showed up at the local
mega-church and said “I’d like to help.”

                Interview
guy    “So, are you new to this area.”

                Moses             “Yup, I grew up on the water.

                Interview
guy    “Ok…so tell me about your life.”

                Moses             “Well, I am not a great talker,
so bear with me…”

                Interview
Guy   “No problem, at SuperMega Cathedral
we are open to all kinds of people.”

                Moses             “Great…let’s see…I guess it
all started just after I killed the Egyptian guy.”

    Interview Guy   “I’m sorry, I must have heard you wrong. It
sounded to me like you said              something about ‘killing an Egyptian guy.’”

Moses                “That’s right.

Interview Guy      (scratches his head)

Moses               "And then I buried him. In the sand.”

           Interview
Guy      “Hey…we’re gonna need to get back to you on this. Have you thought
about          checking                        with the Methodists?”

 

Not sure why God has this murder by a rock star right at the
beginning of Moses’ mission, thought I am glad that even a trainwreck of  a start didn’t derail him forever. Good
to know that “past performance is not always an indicator of future failure (or
success.)

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Uncategorized