Exodus 3:13

Posted on February 22, 2010

0


Exodus 3:13

 

Moses said to God, "Suppose I go to the Israelites and
say to them, 'The God of your fathers has sent me to you,' and they ask me,
'What is his name?' Then what shall I tell them?"

 

Let’s look at Moses’ resume:

1.      
.Whacked an Egyptian

2.      
Lucked into a wife because he ran off some
shepherds at a well

3.      
Got an entry level job from his father-in-law
Jethro. (Insert Beverly Hillbillies joke here…)

4.      
Spoke to by God out of a burning shrubbery.
(insert Monty Python reference here.)

That’s it. Then somehow, just past the murder and patronage,
we have the talking burning bush.

And Moses looking for excuses.

Interestingly after God begins his “this is what I’m
thinking speech” Moses’ resposnse was not (at this point) “I can’t” or “I won’t.”
He says “what if?”

“What  if Pharoah is
mean to me?”

“What if the Israelites say ‘yeah, but I don’t think so….?”

Here’s the thing with this Burning Bush story that I am just
now seeing.

God told Moses how the thing would start (“go see Pharoah”)
AND how it would end (“the Israelites will get out of Egpyt and worship God on
Mt. Burning Bush.”)

GOD TOLD HIM THE BEGINNING AND THE END!!!!

To which Moses says “Hey you God in the bush en fuego, I
hear what you’re saying  but frankly I do
not think this is such a good idea. Especially the part about going to see the
Pharaoh… oh and the part about talking to to the Israelites.”

At which point I think God should be thinking, “Dude, I have
told you two parts of the plan, and you don’t like either one of them. Pardon
me for just a minute, but have you seen your resume…murderer, lucky married
guy, father-in-law’s long distance shepherd? There is not much in there that would
indicate ‘world-changer.’”

But He doesn’t .

God keeps going with his explanation.

And gives Moses all he needs.

Even if he doesn’t get it, or understand, or appreciate it.

Posted in: Uncategorized